Diamond Dealers shine at annual awards night

Popular products with wide customer appeal, backed by NZ’s best new vehicle warranty and customer care, is only part of the story behind Mitsubishi Motors’ continued year-on-year growth – that was the message reinforced at this year’s Diamond Dealer Awards, Mitsubishi’s annual black-tie event honouring the efforts and achievements of the company’s best-performing dealers.

From its national network of 56 dealerships, seven standouts were awarded the brand’s highest accolade and named Diamond Dealer for 2017.

The winners were: Mathew Barr (Christchurch Mitsubishi), Mark Barton (Auckland Motors Mitsubishi), Aaron Chatfield (Bay City Mitsubishi), Brent Delaney (Delaney Mitsubishi), Simon Lucas (Simon Lucas Mitsubishi), Darrell Russell (Piako Mitsubishi Morrinsville) and Sharron Windust (Pacific Motor Group).

Following another impressive 12 months of growth, Mitsubishi closed the 2016 financial year (FY) with its biggest March in 27 years, registering 1,056 sales to take the total number of vehicles sold to 9,718 – a year-on-year increase of 18%.

For helping achieve that result, MMNZ chief operating officer Warren Brown was quick to give credit to the strength in depth that has been developed across the entire network, with special mention for the outstanding contribution made by this year’s Diamond Dealer award-winners.

“We are extremely proud to have achieved a seventh consecutive year of growth and credit for that must go to all those teams across the country, who have put in the hard work and dedication required to ensure customers drive away happy – and keep coming back for more.

“Our Diamond Dealers are right at the front of the pack, demonstrating excellence in every aspect of their business. We are extremely proud to award them our highest accolade and give them the peer and market recognition they deserve.

“More than ever, our winning dealers were those who made innovative strides towards increasing customer satisfaction and making the experience of owning a Mitsubishi easy and enjoyable. The competition was fierce, with three entirely new winners on the podium: Christchurch Mitsubishi, Delaney Mitsubishi and Pacific Motor Group.

“Sharron Windust’s excellent leadership at Pacific Motor Group sees her head back to Whangarei with a Diamond Dealer trophy and awards for Top New Vehicle Sales, Top Market Share and Finance Dealer of the Year.

“Mark Barton of Auckland Motors appears to be an unstoppable force. Winning his 13th Diamond Dealer award and recognition for Service Excellence bears testament to his unerring drive and dedication to succeed.

“We’ve previously referred to Aaron Chatfield [Bay City Mitsubishi] as a rising star, but his fourth win in a row cements his status as one of our leading lights. Winning the Excellence in Customer Service Category and claiming Top Market Share adds to his already impressive achievements.

“Over at Piako Mitsubishi Morrinsville, Darrell Russell continues to lead the way for our rural dealers, adding an award for Top New Vehicle Sales to his Diamond Dealer trophy.

“In the competitive Auckland market, it’s great to see Simon Lucas from Simon Lucas Mitsubishi shine bright again with outstanding sales and customer service.

“Nights such as these provide the chance to reward and celebrate success. They also spur the desire and determination to repeat that success going forward. As we continue to grow and strengthen our position in the market, I know that all of our winners, and runners-up, will be striving to improve – all with an eye on next year’s podium!”


The full list of winners is:

Diamond Dealers

Mathew Barr – Christchurch Mitsubishi

Mark Barton – Auckland Motors Mitsubishi

Aaron Chatfield – Bay City Mitsubishi

Brent Delaney – Delaney Mitsubishi

Simon Lucas – Simon Lucas Mitsubishi

Darrell Russell – Piako Mitsubishi Morrinsville

Sharron Windust – Pacific Motor Group


Excellence in Customer Service                 

Bay City Mitsubishi

Mexted Mitsubishi

Houston Mitsubishi Blenheim


Overall Parts Excellence                

Archibald Mitsubishi


Overall Service Excellence           

Auckland Motors Mitsubishi


Top New Vehicle Sales

Andrew Simms Mitsubishi

Pacific Motor Group

Piako Mitsubishi Morrinsville


Top Market Share             

Bay City Mitsubishi

Pacific Motor Group

Archibald Mitsubishi


Managing Directors Award          

Magnus Lennie Mitsubishi


Finance Dealer of the year          

Pacific Motor Group


Photo: MMNZ 2017 Diamond Dealer winners were presented with their trophies at a black tie event at Millbrook Resort in Arrowtown. Left to right: Brent Delaney, Rachel Delaney, Simon Lucas, Carolyn Lucas, Matthew Barr, Nicola Barr, Angela Chatfield, Aaron Chatfield, Sharron Windust, Chris Windust, Darrell Russell, Catherine Russell, Rae Barton, Mark Barton, Tomoki Yanagawa.


Tagged with: , ,